ShredIt for Windows FAQ



Yes there is. Click here to go to the How to use the ShredIt for Windows Free Trial

Installation and Registration

For complete instructions on how to install or uninstall,

You haven’t registered the App. If you have already entered your Registration Information/Serial Number and are getting this message, there is an error in the Registration Information you have entered. Please follow these steps:

  • Verify that you entered the correct License Type. Check that the License Type you entered matches the one in the email you received from us.
  • Verify that you entered the correct Purchaser’s ID/Email Address. If you purchased online, enter the Email address used when the App¬†was purchased. If you purchased a CD, use the Purchaser’s ID that came with the App.
  • Verify that you entered the Registration Key/Serial Number correctly. Check for the following common problems:
    • typing the letter O or I instead of the number 0 or 1
    • transposing 2 digits
    • adding extra spaces before or after the Purchaser’s ID or Serial Number
    • entering the registration information more than once (click in the field and scroll with the arrow keys to see this)
    • entering the registration information for the wrong App.
  • If you can’t enter the Registration Key/Serial Number,
    • if the Registration Key field contains the following message:
      “Demo version – Try before you buy!”, you are trying to enter the Registration Key/Serial Number in the DEMO version (which does not require a key), instead of the full version. Quit from the DEMO App, run the full version of ShredIt and try again.
  • If that didn’t solve the problem, delete your config file and configure ShredIt for Windows again. The config file is located in the same folder as ShredIt for Windows.
  • If that didn’t solve the problem, contact Support at¬†support@mireth.com
  • If you want to register the App, see How to Install

If the App is registered, the Register Dialog Box will not be displayed when you run the program.
If you are already a registered user and you have downloaded a free upgrade, your old registration information is retained. You don’t need to re-register.

There is more than one way to create a shortcut. Windows doesn’t work reliably with all of them. To correct the problem, do the following:

  • Delete the desktop shortcut that doesn’t work. (It was probably created by doing this: from the start->all program->right click “ShredIt” and create a shortcut)
  • Create a new shortcut.
    • On the “C” Drive, navigate to the App¬†you want to make a shortcut for¬†and¬†Right-Click It
    • From the File menu, select Create Shortcut
  • Drag the ‚ÄúShortcut to ShredIt‚ÄĚ to a convenient place. Most users put it on the desktop, above the Recycle Bin.

Operation

You can use ShredIt to

  • erase a file
  • erase a folder
  • erase the free space on a disk
  • erase previously deleted files
  • erase a hard drive
  • erase an external hard drive
  • erase a floppy disk

For complete instructions, refer to

Yes. When you shred a shortcut, ShredIt for Windows shreds the shortcut file, not the file it points to.

About Shredding | Erasing | Secure Delete

Throwing a file in the recycle bin does not remove the file contents from the hard disk ‚Äď it just removes the file name from the directory, leaving the data intact and vulnerable. In order to securely delete the file contents from the hard disk, you need to overwrite the area on the disk where the file contents are stored with other data. This is what ShredIt does. In addition, you need to ensure that you securely delete all copies of the file. When you edit a file, the app¬†will create and delete working copies each time you save, leaving multiple copies of your file on the hard disk in the disk free space area. In order to securely delete these copies, you need to shred your free space. ShredIt also does this.

By shredding, we mean that for each requested file ShredIt will overwrite the contents of the file. The pattern of bits which ShredIt will use to overwrite with is configured by the user. The default pattern used is proprietary. The number of times the data will be overwritten is configured by the user. The default number of times the data is overwritten is proprietary.

More Help

Yes there is. Click here to go to the ShredIt for Windows Tutorial

Free trial

Download Now

Buy App

$24.95 Buy App

Buy CD

$34.95 Buy CD