NetShred X | Mac: How to Erase Internet Tracks



Erasing Internet Tracks – Browsing Data

  • When you go to a site on the internet, your browser stores a copy of pages you visit, called cache files.
  • Download cache is created by your browser when you download files from the internet. You can use NetShred X to clean this information so it can’t be recovered.
  • When you go to a site on the internet, your browser stores the History of URL of pages you visit.
  • A Top Sites page  gives you an at-a-glance thumbnail view of your favorite websites. If you’ve customizing this view by pinning a favorite site to a specific location on the page, you’ll want to retain your Top Sites when using NetShred X. Otherwise, you may want to erase your Top sites.
  • Favicons are the thumbnails beside the URLs stored in your browser history.

When you clear or delete any of this browsing data, the information can still be recovered. You can use NetShred X to erase browsing data on your Mac so it can’t be recovered. (To erase browsing data you’ve previously deleted, you need to erase your free space.)

Requirements

  • NetShred X

Instructions: How to Clean Cache, Download Cache, History, Top Sites, Favicons

  1. From the “NetShred X” preferences dialog, click the “Shred” tab and check the appropriate check box for the data your want erased
    • To erase Browser Cache, tick the “Web Browser – Cache” checkbox
    • To erase Download Cache, tick the “Web Browser – Download” checkbox
    • To erase History, tick the “Web Browser – History” checkbox
    • To erase Top Sites, tick the “Web Browser – Top Sites” checkbox
    • To erase Favicons, tick the “Web Browser – Favicons” checkbox

    NetShred X Preferences select browsing data to clear
    click to enlarge

  2. In NetShred X Preferences Enable Tab, tick the Web Browser you want to erase browser data for. (You don’t need to untick browsers you don’t use.)
    NetShred X Preferences Pick which browsers to erase

click to enlarge

  1. The next time NetShred X is run, it will clean your browser cache. By default, NetShred X is set up to run when you quit from your browser. To learn more about run options, click here.

Erasing Internet Tracks – Email Data

  • When you receive email that contains html (not just plain text links, but images), your email app stores a copy of the images in email cache.
  • When you delete an email or move it to the trash, it’s not really gone and can be recovered.
  • You can also use NetShred X to erase your junk mail

When you clear or delete any of this email data, the information can still be recovered. You can use NetShred X to wipe email data on your Mac so it can’t be recovered. (To clean the cache you’ve previously deleted, you need to erase your free space.)

Requirements

  • NetShred X

Instructions: How to Wipe email Cache, email Trash, email Junk

  1. From the “NetShred X” preferences dialog, click the “Clear” tab and check the appropriate check box for the data your want erased
    • To erase email Cache, tick the “Mail – Cache” checkbox
    • To erase Trash, tick the “Mail – Trash” checkbox
    • To erase Junk, tick the “Mail – Junk” checkbox

    NetShred X Preferences select browsing data to clear
    click to enlarge

  2. In NetShred X Preferences Enable Tab, tick the eMail you want to erase data for. (You don’t need to untick apps you don’t use.)
    NetShred X Preferences Pick which browsers to erase

click to enlarge

  1. The next time NetShred X is run, it will erase your email tracks. By default, NetShred X is set up to run when you quit from your email app. To run it using a different run option, click here.

Erasing Internet Tracks – Quicktime Cache

  • When you watch a Quicktime movie online, your browser stores a copy of it. When you clear your cache, the information can still be recovered. You can use NetShred X to wipe the temporary quicktime cache files created when you watch a movie or clip online, so they can’t be recovered.

Requirements

  • NetShred X

Instructions: How to Wipe email Cache, email Trash, email Junk

  1. From the “NetShred X” preferences dialog, click the “Shred” tab and check the Quicktime Cache Checkbox
  2. In NetShred X Preferences Enable Tab, tick the browser you want to erase data for. (You don’t need to untick apps you don’t use.)
  3. The next time NetShred X is run, it will wipe your Quicktime cache. By default, NetShred X is set up to run when you quit from your browser app. To run it using a different run option, click here.

For more information about NetShred X


Download

Download Now