ShredIt for Mac OS 8 | Mac OS 9 FAQ


Throwing a file in the trash does not remove the file contents from the hard disk – it just removes the file name from the directory, leaving the data intact and vulnerable. In order to securely delete the file contents from the hard disk, you need to overwrite the area on the disk where the file contents are stored with other data. This is what ShredIt does. In addition, you need to ensure that you securely delete all copies of the file. When you edit a file, the application program will create and delete working copies each time you save, leaving multiple copies of your file on the hard disk in the disk free space area. In order to securely delete these copies, you need to shred your free space. ShredIt also does this.
For complete instructions on how to install or uninstall, refer to the ShredIt for Mac OS 7 Read me in the documentation folder that comes with ShredIt or download the ShredIt OS 8 | 9 Read me (pdf) now

You can use ShredIt to

  • erase a file
  • erase a folder
  • erase the free space on a disk
  • erase previously deleted files
  • erase a hard drive
  • erase an external hard drive
  • erase a floppy disk

For complete instructions, refer to the ShredIt Read me in the documentation folder that comes with ShredIt or download the ShredIt OS  Read me (pdf) now

None of the files left in a ShredIt Items folder are completely shredded. You need to drag the ShredIt Items folder on to the ShredIt icon to finish shredding. If the files will not shred, there may be a problem with your hard disk. Please contact Support.(Please Note: ShredIt did not cause the problem with your hard drive. The inability to shred is often indicative of bad sectors on the drive, an early indicator of a failing hard drive.)

By shredding, we mean that for each requested file ShredIt will overwrite the contents of the file. The pattern of bits which ShredIt will use to overwrite with is configured by the user. The default pattern used is proprietary. The number of times the data will be overwritten is configured by the user. The default number of times the data is overwritten is proprietary.

Free trial

Download Now

Buy App

$19.95 Buy App